Meritorious Teaching Award

Purpose of the award

During graduation each year, CMUQ honors a faculty member for their commitment to teaching and education. Students are invited to nominate faculty who they feel most embody the inscription on the award: “Given for unusual devotion and effectiveness in teaching undergraduate students".


Students at CMUQ are invited to nominate any one of their professors from any semester during their studies at Carnegie Mellon. However, professors must have taught at CMU in Qatar either Fall 2015 or Spring 2016.  Students may nominate one professor only.

This is a lifetime award. Past winners are hence not eligible. Check out past winners here.

Nomination Deadline

Nominations must be received no later than March 29, 2016, midnight.

Nomination Process

Students should submit their nominations using the Nominate page. Once applications close, a committee of CMUQ faculty will convene and select the winner for the Meritorious Teaching Award.



View Background